New job title: Sports writer (?)

The nice folks at the Los Angeles Review of Books asked me if I could write a little essay about mini golf.  “I can give you twelve,” I said, because I was feeling glib, and also, feeling the effects of a particularly mysterious beverage at the rooftop party in downtown Los Angeles that evening in April.

In any case, it was fun to write about Tom Thumb again.  You can read it here!

Rules of the Mini Game

And I apologize for not blogging during this month, but it’s been strangely busy for a summer month. When we looked at the calendar we realized that there have been only 15 days in the whole month of June when we have been home and not having house-guests.  I mean, it’s been great fun (super fun to have Tim’s daughters here!).  But blogging just, you know, doesn’t compete with sitting outside with loved ones on a warm summer evening, laughing at stories we tell each other, and eating some lovely berry dessert…. 🙂

I also taught a weekend class at the Iowa Summer Writing Festival on “Creativity: The Magic and Mystery of it All.”  It was really fun!  And I hope it inspired the students, because to be honest, it inspired me.  I’ve been writing better and more easily since I taught the class.  Huzzah, as they say.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

